Next Up

The next Get OnBoard Event is set for October 29, 2016, @ 11:30 AM. Please RSVP if you would like to join us.

Make a Contribution

Many of the services Makapo provides are at little or no cost to our blind participants.  Please help us continue to  change the lives of our paddlers and family by making a contribution .


Stay Connected

Please follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter for the latest information and announcements!


Our Story

Rooted in Aloha since 2006.

The Makapo Aquatics Project was originally a team of five blind men gathered together by John Chavez.  It was John’s dream to field a team of all blind paddlers to compete in the 18-mile Queen Liliu’okalani Outrigger Canoe race in Kona, HI.  Being largest race in the world, it would be a showcase of what blind people could accomplish despite their disability.

The team trained under Billy Whitford, a world-class coach and Executive Director of the Newport Aquatic Center, and raced on September 2, 2006.  The team finished last with a time of 3 hours 10 minutes and 42 seconds.  However, they became the first all blind team to finish the race.

Upon their return, John and fellow team member RJ De Rama decided to formally establish a non-profit to spread the word about outrigger paddling to the blind community and thus the Orange County Makapo Aquatics was formed as a California non-profit corporation.

The men’s team raced again in Kona in 2007 when it caught the attention of Kirsten Williams, a paddler from Southern California.  Inspired by the team, she offered her time and experience and began serving as their coach in 2008.  Makapo returned once again that year with a women’s team, who became the first all blind women’s team to complete the race with a time of 3 hours 2 minutes and 54 seconds.

Since then the organization’s name was changed to simply Makapo Aquatics Project to reflect our organization’s intent to serve the blind community in areas beyond Orange County and Southern California.


Kona 2007


Kona 2008

teambeforeracesaturday (1)

Kona 2008